sketchbookthought

my attempt at blending the arts I cherish

Gratitude Abounds

I was on the final leg of my brilliant weekend as I happily drove through the dark with the windows cracked….just enough to hear the crickets’ first song and still savor the sun-soaked breeze. As I glided down the familiar streets, my mind slowed down and began to process the weekend and all it glories.

Deep sigh.

Oh how good the Lord is to one who does not, and never will, deserve His love and faithfulness!

This past weekend I journeyed back to Union University for the first time since I packed up my dorm room last semester. But this time I was not returning to campus as a student. It was not in the Lord’s plan for me to continue attending the school…instead He has other plans that I am not even aware of. But His great, steadfast character has inspired me to try with all my heart to be as constant and patient as He is.

Therefore,

“I have decided, I have resolved to wait upon you Lord.”

Ah, how He rewards the-trying-to-be-faithful daughter of His! He blessed me with such a reunion, such a weekend that was beyond words in many ways and in many moments…

As soon as I entered campus there were no forces that could possibly snatch the massive smile off my mouth or take the dance out of my step. A reunion is a great thing indeed; it’s the moment when, after months or weeks (time doesn’t always matter when you’re longing for someone) of separation, that two souls meet again and the truest of friendships is entirely reborn.

“For true love is inexhaustible; the more you give, the more you have. And if you go to draw at the true fountainhead, the more water you draw, the more abundant is its flow.”
Antoine de-Saint Exupery

It was almost like a weekend retreat where I was surrounded by those that I adore and we just made a grand ole’ time of it… We sat on large stone porches and shared our hearts in chilly wind, we visited a beloved professor, we told stories and caught each other up on our lives, we cooked a delicious Italian dinner full of //laughter, sparkling beverages, singing, and more laughter// we talked until we forgot where the time went, we brunched on French toast, we tried to decide if mammals will take over the world, we enjoyed the blessed sunshine, we crafted in the best coffee shop, we fiesta-ed for two beautiful 21 year olds while funny mustaches were upon our faces, we were quiet together, we jaunted in the strongest of breezes to the grocery for doughnuts, and we sealed the weekend of delight with a church service on a quilt under our willow tree.

What more could I have dreamed of?

As I sailed through the nighttime and reveled in retrospect, I saw the stars blinking above me. And these words came to me, as I yearned for a way to thank Him for his immense blessings…

“Look at the stars, Look how they shine for you.”

Oh, to shine for Him! Oh, that I might hold His brightness in such a way that world knows without a single doubt that He lives and lives in me.

5 comments on “Gratitude Abounds

  1. Sharon
    February 17, 2011

    Ahnna, your faith and perseverance inspire me. I love you and can’t wait to see what our loving Father has in store for you. Stay resolved!

  2. Annie Glenn
    February 18, 2011

    Ahnna, all I can say is, “wow!” and keep writing… that was beautiful, moving, and inspiring!

  3. Chris
    February 18, 2011

    This is spectacular! You make my writing attempts blush in shame.
    I’m telling you, paypal account. I’d send a dollar after reading this!

  4. Meg Rehnborg
    February 19, 2011

    Ahnna,
    I’m so glad I got to see you Thursday night 🙂
    and this was beautiful — you DO shine for Him, ever so brilliantly!

  5. anna ave.
    February 21, 2011

    oh hey. just crying at this. nbd.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 17, 2011 by in Uncategorized.

Like what you see? Enter your email address to receive new posts from this little blog!

Join 825 other followers

(archives)

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

Bath Time Stories with Rachel

My semester abroad living in Bath, England and traveling across Europe.

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Kathryn Buncik

Art and Design by Kathryn Buncik

buffalocharm

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

foralltheglory

"...that the Lord has made."

somewhere beyond the seas

my adventurous semester across the big blue

