sketchbookthought

my attempt at blending the arts I cherish

THE LITTLE THINGS.

i love, love details. and this definitely doesn’t exclude the fleeting moments or the tiniest flashes of brilliance in a gray day. The Lord loves to show me just how great his adoration for me is by revealing these little, ordinary, irreplaceable moments.

this past thursday was a rainy, blustery sort of day… but i started it smiling for i was wearing bright blue tights and polka dotted rain boots, enough to cause any girl to smirk. i truly delight in drizzly days, but let’s be honest they tend to get one’s spirits down to a certain degree. but after classes as i whizzed down old country roads and through fog-choked woods and rolling hills, i reveled in the serene and timeless beauty of these farms and fields. at one point i glanced to my left and witnessed two gorgeous black horses prancing together in their hazy pasture; it was breathtaking.

donkeys in the tall swaying orange grass.

a simple coke. brothers, blessings.

the long-awaited trip to grimey’s with the greatest baby brother a girl could ever dream of.

home cooked pot pie at the table of family&friendships,

at last singing, singing songs in the courtyard thick with storm breezes and echoing voices. banjo, guitar, sufjan, mumford, bon iver.

freely worshipping the Creator of the World.

tornado sirens, tornado adventures, tornado rains, tornado snuggles…

waiting for the flashing terror to just calm itself down.

bread and butter.

staying up late with a dear-darling girl.

it doesn’t matter how hard i try, i will never never understand the depth of His love for me. but i don’t want to understand it all, for the mystery is where the beauty lies. thank you for the little things… blessed be He!

So, I will sing at the top of my lungs.
Yes, I will sing of Your unfailing love.
So, I will sing to the Lord
For He has been good to me.

~Psalm 13, Nate Hale

“Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the Lord; trust in him and he will do this: He will make your righteousness shine like the dawn…” Psalm 37:4-6

4 comments on “THE LITTLE THINGS.

  1. ellen
    February 27, 2011

    love, love, love.

  2. Sharon
    February 28, 2011

    oh…daughter o’mine! your attention to details blesses the Father, because He delights to delight His children! Thanks for reminding us to look, listen, and be aware of the “little” things that mean a lot!

  3. Gram
    February 28, 2011

    In your words, I see my heart, feel the same beats, joy in the deatils of life. How I wish to have had a mother to have encouraged me, given me the opportunities to soar, pushed me to be real and loved me when I failed as you have. And I ache that I was not that same mother to have encouraged your mother. Oh, the tiny, dusty nooks and crannies of life in which we find ourselves lost! Soar, reach, bloom my dear Ahnna.

  4. elle-meister
    March 1, 2011

    this is a different ellen, but I too “love, love, love” when ‘a certain minor light/leaps incandescent/out of a kitchen table or chair/thus hallowing an interval/otherwise inconsequent”!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 27, 2011 by in Uncategorized.

Like what you see? Enter your email address to receive new posts from this little blog!

Join 825 other followers

(archives)

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

Bath Time Stories with Rachel

My semester abroad living in Bath, England and traveling across Europe.

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Kathryn Buncik

Art and Design by Kathryn Buncik

buffalocharm

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

foralltheglory

"...that the Lord has made."

somewhere beyond the seas

my adventurous semester across the big blue

