sketchbookthought

my attempt at blending the arts I cherish

To Be Alone With You

To be alone with you and to walk with you among the sunribbons that filter through the dead tree boughs. I shiver in my sweater and you throw your arm around my shoulder and squeeze it quick.

You hold my hand so sweetly, yet with a subtle firmness. We quietly walk through, wander between, and pause in the woods. I glance at you through my drooping hair and out of the side of my eye. You’re smiling back at me. The look on your face makes me quickly turn away…

We amble, and I sneak a peek behind us… Everything is blooming. The trees are fully clothed and dancing for all to see. The daffodils are beaming; goldenrod, hollyhock, sunflower, foxglove, tulip, rosebush, lilac, and wildflower abound by the acre; the earth has been reborn.

The sun beats down; I peel off my sweater and find instead a deep red dress of the softest, most twirlable cotton. The wind picks up my skirts and my heart…and so together we dance. Spinning, spinning with arms spread as wide as they’ll reach. You laugh with your whole heart and the woods laugh with you as I finally tumble breathlessly to the ground…

You grab my hand and help me rise to my feet. You place your sturdy hands upon my shoulders and make me look into those eyes of yours. I can’t, I can’t hold your gaze… The love shining out of those eyes of yours is more than I can possibly understand, more than I can possibly handle. But we’re still staring at each other, when I hear you whisper:

“I make beautiful things. I make beautiful things out of dust. I make beautiful things.”

I suck in a shaky breath as the tears fall.

You continue, “I am making you new, I am making you new.”

As I try to blink the sparkling things away, you’ve gone. And in the same instant you haven’t. Your eyes are the sunshine. Your hands are the breezes. Your laugh is the wind in the trees and the birds singing in harmony. Your love is every new mercy on every new morning…

3 comments on “To Be Alone With You

  1. Chris
    March 22, 2011

    I’m speechless.

  2. Miriam
    March 22, 2011

    This is one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever read. It made me feel lovely too…thank you 🙂

  3. LaFonda
    March 23, 2011

    yes (!)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 22, 2011 by in Musings, Photographic Sights and tagged , , , , , .

Like what you see? Enter your email address to receive new posts from this little blog!

Join 825 other followers

(archives)

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

Bath Time Stories with Rachel

My semester abroad living in Bath, England and traveling across Europe.

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Kathryn Buncik

Art and Design by Kathryn Buncik

buffalocharm

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

foralltheglory

"...that the Lord has made."

somewhere beyond the seas

my adventurous semester across the big blue

