sketchbookthought

my attempt at blending the arts I cherish

are we there yet?

They say that home is where the heart is
I guess I haven’t found my home
And we keep driving round in circles
Afraid to call this place our own

And are we there yet?

They say there’s linings made of silver
Folded inside each raining cloud
Well, we need someone to deliver
Our silver lining now

And are we there yet?
And are we there yet?
And are we there yet?
Home, home, home
Home, home, home

“for in this tent , we groan, longing to put on our heavenly dwelling…not that we would be unclothed, but that we would be further clothed, so that what is mortal may be swallowed up by life.” (2 corinthians 5:2-4)

my whole soul groans, everything within me aches. i struggle so every day, and it reminds me that this is not my home. i’m not made for this sick, broken, unholy world. yet i find myself listening to the world so often, and then my desires swell and fill my eyes with distractions. ‘no, no!’ i cry; it’s not about my dreams, it’s not about ME.

once a dear girl said, “maybe i won’t have a happily ever after. maybe i’m meant for something greater than that.” i try so hard to remind myself of this very lovely fact, because despite all that i know from the world around me, i must, must remember that my ‘soul’ purpose is to “press on to that other country and to help others do the same.” but as C.S. Lewis quotes in that same passage,  “I must take care, on the one hand, never to despise, or be unthankful for, these earthly blessings, and on the other, never to mistake them for the something else of which they are only a kind of copy, or echo, or mirage.” i’m trying, Abba, i am. help my little heart grow with gratitude towards you… for truly, have you not bountifully blessed me with all goodness and with the weightiest love? everyday you remind me of this great love and the home where you wait for me through small glimpses behind the curtain: a star plummeting through the night skies, the warm december wind kissing my face, the godly women who bless me deeply, the beauty of a smile, and the simplicity of the grace that you extend to me each new morn.

through the trials, i cannot grit my teeth and hope to make it out alive as best i can; instead i can only beg you to restore, redeem, and ransom this life for your glory. i cannot lose heart, i have no heavenly reason to do so. therefore, “now hope that is seen is not hope. for who hopes for what he sees? but if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience.” while i wait for the day in which we will all pass from glory to glory into your arms and into the tearless, brightly lit, love-soaked days of eternity, i aim to live wholly right now, right here…

One comment on “are we there yet?

  1. laurengracie
    February 14, 2012

    this is amazing. i can relate so well; this really hits home and touches me on a personal level. thank God for those glimpses of glory that give us the right perspective on the here and now 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 26, 2011 by in Musings and tagged , , , , , , .

Like what you see? Enter your email address to receive new posts from this little blog!

Join 825 other followers

(archives)

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

Bath Time Stories with Rachel

My semester abroad living in Bath, England and traveling across Europe.

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Kathryn Buncik

Art and Design by Kathryn Buncik

buffalocharm

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

foralltheglory

"...that the Lord has made."

somewhere beyond the seas

my adventurous semester across the big blue

