sketchbookthought

my attempt at blending the arts I cherish

the little Coldplay fan

One evening, almost four years ago, I was sitting in the backseat of our car with my little brother, who was five at the time. As he was becoming sleepy and restless, I asked if he wanted me to turn on some quiet music. He nodded, and I started playing my new obsession: Coldplay. I began with their first and quietest album, Parachutes, and he nestled up in the seat and smiled.

Since that night, every time we rode in the car together or he was tuckered out he asked for Coldplay. I was thrilled to have shared my favorite band with someone I love so much. He, at such a tender age, came to appreciate them quickly. Once he acquired our other brother’s hand-me-down iPod, he began to listen to the albums on his own and developed his own tastes. His favorite tracks are Spies, Clocks, Fix You, and Viva La Vida.

A few months ago, he turned nine, and we were able to spend the first half of the day together. On our way home, he requested that I turn on Coldplay for our drive. “Oh, can you play the live versions? They’re my favorites,” he shared from the backseat. I lowered my eyes so that he couldn’t see the tears forming. When had he turned into a little man? I have promised him since he starting loving the band that I would one day take him to a live show, and already the time was passing us by faster than I would like it.

I love him, my little Coldplay fan.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 13, 2012 by in Musings, Photographic Sights and tagged , , , .

Like what you see? Enter your email address to receive new posts from this little blog!

Join 825 other followers

(archives)

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

Bath Time Stories with Rachel

My semester abroad living in Bath, England and traveling across Europe.

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Kathryn Buncik

Art and Design by Kathryn Buncik

buffalocharm

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

foralltheglory

"...that the Lord has made."

somewhere beyond the seas

my adventurous semester across the big blue

