sketchbookthought

my attempt at blending the arts I cherish

this heart’s in wide receiving

“This gift is waiting to be found
Your heart’s in wide receiving
Been too long buried in the sand
Some things require leaving
This gift will fall right in your hand

Just try to understand…
If you long enough
And you don’t give up
If you’re strong enough
And you don’t give up”

can I please just take a minute to tell you how much joy is dancing underneath my skin? because there is a great deal of it, and I hope some of it spilled out onto some of you.

here’s the deal– today–through many faces and words and one song, the Lord showed me how He is blessing me for how I’ve  struggled to be faithful to Him. as He has walked with me through transferring colleges twice and experiencing a myriad trials, disappointments, and joys, I have tried with my smallness of faith to trust him with what my life was evolving into. I will be the first to tell you that the past three years have not turned out at all like “graduating-senior-me” thought they would.

but here’s the most beautiful part of it all: they’ve turned out to be infinitely greater than I could have ever imagined. and today, when I left campus with my new, dear friends’ greetings ringing in my ears and their embraces still fresh on my heart, the Lord leaned down and said, “See! Look what I have for you! Isn’t it marvelous? Thank you, little one, for keeping on even when you couldn’t see where we were headed. I’m so glad you can see, taste, feel all this love today–it’s yours! Soak it up.”

I am content, and this is a glorious place to be dwelling in. I’ll keep holding onto your promises, Father, and, in turn, I’ll keep giving theses days back to you. Amen.

“Don’t hang your head in sorrow
Don’t give up just before you win
Don’t wait around for tomorrow
Open up your arms and let it in”

This Gift, Glen Hansard

One comment on “this heart’s in wide receiving

  1. kathleen
    April 4, 2013

    This is beautiful, dear heart.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 4, 2013 by in Musings and tagged , , , , .

Like what you see? Enter your email address to receive new posts from this little blog!

Join 825 other followers

(archives)

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

Bath Time Stories with Rachel

My semester abroad living in Bath, England and traveling across Europe.

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Kathryn Buncik

Art and Design by Kathryn Buncik

buffalocharm

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

foralltheglory

"...that the Lord has made."

somewhere beyond the seas

my adventurous semester across the big blue

